The funeral plan age limit depends on how you pay and on the provider. Golden Charter says there are no maximum or minimum ages for a single payment, but instalments have cut-off ages, and the other providers read for this page set their own.

If someone has died and you are paying for their funeral now, look first at what already exists. GOV.UK points to checking for a prepaid plan or life insurance in their name, and to the estate as a way to pay. People on certain benefits may get a Funeral Expenses Payment (in Scotland, a Funeral Support Payment); where the person held a pre-paid plan, that payment reaches only £120, for items outside it.

Questions about what is open to you at your age can go to an FCA-authorised broker: fill in the enquiry form here and one will call you back to go through plans and cover.

What is the age limit for a funeral plan?

No source read gives a single legal age limit. Each provider sets its own terms, and the one that matters most is usually on paying by instalments, not on owning a plan. The table gives what each provider states, as read on the date shown.

Provider (source, date)Minimum age statedPaying in one goPaying by instalments
Golden Charter (Key Features and Terms, April 2026; plans page read 20 October 2026)18, for instalmentsNo maximum or minimum age limits for a single payment or 12 monthly paymentsAged at least 18 and under 78 on the start date; total paid by the 80th birthday; terms of 2 to 15 years, shortened to the full years left before the 80th birthday
Co-op (plan pages, archived 7 October 2026)Not stated on the pages readNot stated on the pages read6 or 12 months, or 2 to 25 years; the plan must be paid in full before the 80th birthday
Dignity (plans page read 20 October 2026)18 or over, for a plan bought for someone else; own-plan age not statedNot stated on the page readUp to five years, with payments complete by the 85th birthday
Pure Cremation (terms read 20 October 2026)18Single payment: 18 to 100+1 and 2 years: 18 to 100+; 5 years: 18 to 84; 10 years: 40 to 74
Simplicity Cremations (plans page read 20 October 2026)Over 18, for the person coveredNot stated on the page readInstalments are offered; an age limit was not stated on the page read

Prices are on how much a funeral plan costs and our funeral plan comparison.

Does age limit paying a funeral plan by instalments?

Yes, at every provider in the table that states a limit. Golden Charter's terms say: "You must be aged at least 18 and under 78 on the start date of your funeral plan. You must complete payment of the total cost by your 80th birthday." Its longest term is "the shorter of: (a) 15 years; or (b) the number of full years between your age on the start date and your 80th birthday", so the older the buyer, the shorter the longest term.

Co-op's comparison page says the same thing in fewer words: "Your age affects the length of payment term available." It adds that "Instalment charges apply when you pay over 2- 25 years because you’re paying over a longer period."

Dignity's cut-off is the 85th birthday, with a five-year ceiling. Pure Cremation ties age to term: the five-year plan stops at 84, and the ten-year plan runs from 40 to 74.

The FCA's rules shape this too (FPCOB 7.2, in force from 29 July 2022). A provider must not sell an instalment plan with payments running longer than the moratorium period, which can be no longer than 24 months. The exception is a plan where no further payment is needed for the funeral after any moratorium period ends, and where either there is no moratorium period or the funeral is provided unconditionally on a death after it, or on an accidental death within it (FPCOB 7.2.1R). The guidance says this can include plans paid "until the covered individual reaches a certain age" (FPCOB 7.2.2G).

What can younger people buy?

The terms read set a minimum of 18, not a higher starting age. Pure Cremation says its plan is "designed to meet the demands and needs of people over 18 years of age", and Simplicity says the person covered "must be over 18". Golden Charter's plans page sets no minimum or maximum age for a single payment or twelve monthly payments; its terms set 18 for instalments. Pure Cremation's ten-year instalment plan starts at 40.

Whether it is worthwhile at a younger age is not something age rules answer; the points the sources raise are in the last section below. For the wider argument, see whether prepaid funeral plans are a good idea or the funeral plans guide.

What can older people and pensioners buy?

Being older does not close the door on a plan, but it narrows how you pay. Golden Charter says its plans are "available to all UK residents, regardless of age or state of health", and Pure Cremation's pricing page says "There are no health questions, and acceptance is guaranteed." Its terms list a single payment and its one- and two-year instalment plans for ages up to 100+.

What closes with age is the long-instalment route: Golden Charter's for anyone 78 or over at the start, Co-op's at the 80th birthday and Dignity's at the 85th. Golden Charter's single payment and twelve monthly payments have no age limit. For Co-op and Dignity, ask what is open after their cut-off, since the pages read do not say.

A plan is not insurance. Over-50s funeral insurance is a different product with its own entry ages, and what it offers people in their eighties is covered in our funeral cover comparison, over-50s life insurance cost and the SunLife over-50 plan page. Anyone who would rather hear the options for their own age from a person can leave details in the enquiry form, and a broker will phone to talk them over; nothing has to follow.

Can you buy a funeral plan for a parent?

Yes, at the providers read, and the age rules above follow the person the plan covers. Dignity accepts a partner, a parent "or anyone else aged 18 or over", arranged in their name while you pay, and suggests talking it through with them first. Simplicity also needs the person to be over 18, while Co-op wants authority to act for them, such as a power of attorney. The rest is on buying a plan for someone else, and the steps on how to get a funeral plan.

What do the FCA's rules say about age and suitability?

None of the FCA rules quoted here sets an age. They govern how a firm sells; authorisation is covered on our page on FCA regulation of funeral plans.

A firm "must act honestly, fairly and professionally in accordance with the best interests of" its customer and, if different, the covered individual (FPCOB 2.1.2R). "The sale of a funeral plan contract must always be accompanied by a demands and needs test" (FPCOB 8.2.1R), and a proposed contract must be one that "is consistent with the customer’s demands and needs" (FPCOB 8.2.2R). In deciding that, the firm must consider, among other things, "whether any person has already made provision for the covered individual’s funeral" and the length of the moratorium period during which the funeral will not be provided (FPCOB 8.2.5R).

Without a personal recommendation, the firm must take reasonable steps to make sure the customer understands they are "responsible for deciding whether a funeral plan meets" their demands and needs (FPCOB 8.3.1R). Where advice is given, the guidance points to "the duration of instalment payments" among the matters to weigh (FPCOB 8.4.3G).

What changes with age, and is there a best age to buy?

No source read names a best age, and this page does not either. What the sources do say changes is this:

  • Payment options. The instalment cut-offs above mean younger buyers can usually spread payments over more years than older ones, and a long term at Co-op or Golden Charter carries an instalment charge.
  • Price protection. Golden Charter says a plan "fixes the cost of the funeral director services included in your plan at today’s prices". The longer the gap before the funeral, the longer that fixing applies, and the longer the money is committed.
  • Dying before the plan is paid, or cancelling. Each provider's rules for a death part-way through instalments are on the price page, and fees for changing your mind are on cancelling a prepaid funeral plan.

Whether a plan, savings or over-50s cover suits you at your age is a personal choice. If it helps to think it through aloud, the enquiry form here sets up a free call from a broker.

Frequently asked questions

Is there an age limit for funeral plans?

Not in the FCA rules quoted above. Providers set their own, mostly on instalments: for example, under 78 at the start with payment complete by the 80th birthday at Golden Charter. The table above gives each provider's terms.

What age can you start a funeral plan?

The terms read give 18 as the minimum for Golden Charter's instalments, Pure Cremation and, for the person covered, Simplicity. Dignity gives 18 for a plan bought for someone else; ask a provider for its minimum if its page does not state one.

Can an 80-year-old get a funeral plan?

Yes, at some providers. Golden Charter sets no age limit for a single payment or twelve monthly payments, Pure Cremation lists ages to 100+ for a single payment and one- or two-year instalments, and Dignity's instalments run to the 85th birthday. Over-50s insurance at that age is on our funeral cover comparison.

Sources